Is Barack Obama the next Joseph Smith?

A prominent Evangelical commentator Cal Thomas called Obama a “false prophet” in a recent pre-election op-ed .   He appears to be representing his views as the Evangelical opinion on the subject:

The question which Thomas raises returns us to the issue that I have harped on before, how do we coherently explain prophets, true and false.

In response to a previous post of mine, Tim’s comments seemed to indicate that the reason Mormons are shunned by other Evangelicals is due to the fact that we are followers of false prophets.

Mormons have a lot at stake in coming up with a coherent explanation. The entire history of Mormonism is intimately connected to validating or invalidating prophetic claims.

So, the question I have for both Mormons and Evangelicals:   How can you know a false prophet from a true prophet, and what are the consequences for the sincere followers of the false prophets?

Do we go to hell if we start to believe Obama’s theology?

For those interested in the full transcript of Cathleen Falsani’s interview that is referenced by Thomas, so you can decide for yourself you can find it HERE.

4 thoughts on “Is Barack Obama the next Joseph Smith?

  1. As to the question of Obama, he doesn’t even claim to be a prophet, so I don’t have to concern myself with whether he is a true one or a false one. I am free to judge his policies and actions on their merits and will surely do so during the next four or eight years.

    As to how we can determine the true prophet from the false, I don’t claim to have a complete or necessarily coherent answer. But a big part of that determination is comparing what he or she says with what I already know to be true. I believe in the truth of the scriptures, for example; if a would-be prophet’s teachings were contradicting the clear teachings of the Bible, for example, there would be good reason to be suspicious of that person’s claim to prophethood. If a “prophet” were calling on me to do evil, then again I would have to be suspicious of the claims.

    As to Cal Thomas, he’s right on some things, wrong on others. He tends to see things in a simplistic black-and-white manner. In this case he’s wrong.

  2. I guess I just used Obama as a provocative intro to the question of how following a false prophet changes your status as a Christian or believer.

    I recognize that he makes no claim to be a religious leader but I think his religious position represents a common one.

    Cal Thomas has always struck me as a stereotypical Evangelical political commentator. He is what I think of when I think of Evangelical pundit. Am I off base on this?

  3. I’d say Thomas is in the mainstream of the religious right, although he may see some issues in more of a black-and-white manner than some others.

    Of course, not all evangelicals identify with the religious right.

Leave a Reply

