I’ve Been Lent a Problem

Wow, that’s a corny headline. Sorry about that, I’ll get to the point. For Lent this year I’m going to cut back on my online presence. That means stepping away from all non-work related blogs among other things. That poses a bit of a problem for this blog since I moderate the comments. Hopefully Jared can help me out, there typically aren’t too many issues.

But as fun and educational as this site is for me, I’ll see you all after Easter!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Tim. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tim

Evangelical Christian living in Southern California. I live with my wife and whatever foster children happen to be in our home at this moment. I love photography, baseball, movies and I'm fascinated by Mormonism.

32 thoughts on “I’ve Been Lent a Problem

  1. I remember going to a church for a while in my Protestant days where we did the ashes-on-the-forehead thing at the beginning of Lent. It’s a tradition I miss.

  2. On Wednesday I thought it would be awesome to draw a pentagram on my forehead and walk around, because from a distance people would be like “Oh hey, he’s Catholic!” and then up close they’d be like “um, never mind” and feel super-uncomfortable.

    But I didn;t think of this idea until I was almost home at 9pm, so it’s not like I was going to go inside, draw a pentagram on my forehead, and go walking around downtown Silver Spring just for kicks.

    Well, that sounds like something I could be talked into doing, now that I think of it, but I did have to go pick up the kids and put them to bed. Sighhhhhhhh

  3. I’m late starting this, but I’m giving up eating out for Lent. Which will probably kill me.

    Hey Tim, since you’re gone for a while, any interest in having me do a guest post? I can do it at my blog, but I think we’d get a better discussion of it here.

    Jared, if you’re around can you poke Tim and ask him that?

  4. He prolly looked at what we’ve been up to in his absence and is busy finding a blog fumigator to clean up this mess.

  5. Brian is partly right.

    I’m back. But daunted by reading through all of the comments from the last 40+ days. Also, my aunt passed away on Good Friday. So I’ve been out of town for the funeral and family obligations.

    I’ll get it running in time.

  6. Oh, don’t worry Tim. Half of it isn’t really worth reading anyway.

    Especially the Polygamous Jesus thread discussion. Stay away! That stuff will rot your brain.

  7. What are you talking about, Seth? I think polygamy Jesus would make a great lesson for your Cub Scouts.

    Tim, I’m sorry to hear about your aunt. Take your time. If we want another discussion, I’m working on a post on hell in response to Quentin L. Cook’s recent General Conference talk, I could maybe post it here instead. I dunno, I’d have to think about it.

  8. I just re-read the polygamous Jesus thread in its entirety and it made me more powerful than you could ever imagine.

    Tim, sorry about your aunt. I hope Lent and Easter were a good time for your family.

    Your absence during Lent got me thinking about why Mormons do not observe it. Frankly, it seems like Mormons should be more likely to observe it than Evangelicals, what with its focus on an “outward work” (so to speak).

  9. But Mormons don’t really celebrate Easter, and they utterly reject everything that comes from outside of the organization.

  10. Brian, you must be more bored than I am.

    I’m in-the-mood-to-play-ROMs-of-old-Atari-games bored, but not quite re-read-polygamy-Jesus-thread bored.

    What are the Mormon official holidays? You know, besides Pioneer Day and Halloween.

  11. May 15: Priesthood restoration Day.

    And “Who Knows?: the Other Priesthood Restoration Day We Made Up After The Fact.”

  12. Brian, you must be more bored than I am.

    I’m in-the-mood-to-play-ROMs-of-old-Atari-games bored, but not quite re-read-polygamy-Jesus-thread bored.

    We read it every week as a family.

  13. I was reread-polygamy-Jesus-bored the other day.

    But mostly because I didn’t want to do my taxes.

    Then I remembered that the IRS will put me in jail and the polygamy Jesus thread will just put me in hell, so I did my taxes instead.

  14. I was musing to myself yesterday about how people will sometimes claim God told them this or that, and how these people are going to die someday and try to repeat to God what they’ve been claiming He told them their entire lives, and God is going to be like, “Bullshit! I never told you that.”

    And then the thought occurred to me that God is the ultimate Kullervo.

    It was one of those moments where I suddenly broke into spontaneous laughter and my husband wanted to know what was so gosh darn funny, and I just couldn’t explain it.

    Maybe you guys will understand.

  15. DO NOT suggest to Kullervo that “God is the ultimate Kullervo” neither God nor Kullervo need that thought running through their heads.

  16. God is going to be like, “Bullshit! I never told you that.”

    Watch out Jack, one person’s bullshit is another person’s scripture.

    I tend to believe God thinks most of what we say is bullshit, (because that is what I think) but that is probably what makes me a heretic.

  17. Kullervo said: “But Mormons don’t really celebrate Easter, and they utterly reject everything that comes from outside of the organization.”

    Bullshit. . .

    I had an Easter basket with a chocolate bunny every Easter as a kid.

  18. Jack: everybody already “dug” Elder Monson. He’s been a favorite for decades. You’re just not seeing a “bump” in his popularity.

    And if “God is the ultimate Kullervo” then we had all better hope there is a Heavenly Mother like katyjane to balance things out.

    Jared: your chocolate filled Easter basket doesn’t count as something “outside of the [LDS] organization,” because the chocolate was undoubtedly from Hershey’s and Cadbury, both of which are owned by the LDS Church.

  19. I had an Easter basket with a chocolate bunny every Easter as a kid.

    Oh yeah, that totally counts. The thing is, that’s all you get. For Mormons, Easter is basically a secular holiday.

Leave a Reply

