What Kind of Mormon Are You?

6660963342054120440jpeg___1_500_1_500_cb94de6a_pngKullervo suggested that everyone take this test and report back for what type of Mormon you are.

Turns out, I am NOT an anti-Mormon (take that Joy).  I came out as a Mormon Intellectual.  Uh, oh, that means I could be called a Mormon.

The first time I took this test, I tried to see if I could pass as a dyed-in-the-wool TBM.  I came out as Porter Rockwell for my loyalty and willingness to do anything for the church (just kidding).

So go take the test, http://helloquizzy.okcupid.com/tests/the-what-kind-of-mormon-are-you-test
and come back and tell us your score.

59 thoughts on “What Kind of Mormon Are You?

  1. Haha, we played this game on Main Street Plaza too, and got a number of “Sunstone Mormons” (and “Radical Mormons”). We theorized that the quiz is either a screening system for the Times & Seasons blog or a subtle recruitment strategy for the Sunstone blog. 😉

    BTW, nobody has gotten “anti-Mormon” so far. I’m tempted to try taking the quiz and choosing the most hostile responses possible each time, just to see if “anti-Mormon” exists as a possible outcome.

  2. I came out as a Mormon intellectual as well. Here, I’ll share my answers just for fun:

    1. Q: “Are you Mormon?” How do you respond? A: No.

    2. Q: The Book of Mormon is believed to be the translation of an ancient record of people in the Americas. Which writing system is it said to be translated from? A: “Reformed Egyptian.”

    3. Q: Look carefully at the image above. How many of these people can you name? A: 4-5.

    4. Q: How many of the above are prophets? A: Two. (I was tempted to answer “Zero,” but the question didn’t ask how many are genuine prophets.)

    5. Q: What did Joseph Smith, the founder of Mormonism, see in his first vision? A: Accounts to different audiences vary, but early tellings suggest he saw Christ.

    6. Q: What phrase is tiresomely repeated in the Book of Mormon? A: “And it came to pass”

    7. Q: Which individual do you regard as most central to Mormon doctrine? A: Brigham Young (because I think Young gave SLC-based Mormonism more of its distinctive flavor than any of the other options).

    8. Q: What function do temples serve in the LDS Church? A: For LDS ordinances like endowments, sealings, and baptism for the dead. (The “consummating LDS marriages” option was really tempting)

    9. Q: Joseph Smith was held in Carthage Jail before he was killed by an armed mob. Why was he there? A. The destruction of the Nauvoo Expositor.

    10. Q: Can woman hold the priesthood? A: Not currently.

    11. Q: Which US political party would you vote for in the last presidential election? A: Republican.

    12. Q: What’s your favorite LDS ward potluck dish? A: I don’t go to ward potlucks. (Usually I don’t.)

    13. Q: What college did you graduate from, or which would you love to attend? A: Brigham Young University.

    14. Q: When do you believe abortion is morally justified? A: Only if in the first trimester, or with other restrictions. (I didn’t really feel like any of the answers fit me well.)

    15. Q: Do you have premarital sex? A: No.

    16. Q: Do you smoke? A: No!

    17. Q: Were you homeschooled, or would you homeschool your children? A: No.

    18. Q: Incidentally, do you want children? A: Um, I have children.

    19. Q: Do you drink alcoholic beverages? A: No. Not at all.

    20. Q: Are you gay or bisexual? A: No.

    21. Q: What kind of music do you listen to? A: Um, I listen to real music.

    22. Q: How much food does your household store? A: None. Whatever’s in the fridge. Maybe…a couple sticks of butter and, um, leftover Chinese. (This answer was frighteningly accurate for me.)

    23. Q: When did you become, or do you expect to become, married? A: 17 – 23

    24. Q: What do you think about government-based welfare? A: The government ought to always provide for the needy; we should increase welfare. (This isn’t a totally accurate answer for me, either.)

    25. Q: What is the strongest profanity you commonly use? A: Damn.

    26. Q: Do you support polygamy, and do you or does your immediate family practice polygamy? A: No, but it should be noted that post-manifesto polygamy was actually authorized by some general authorities after the church officially renounced it.

    27. Q: What sort of caffeine do you consume? A: I drink caffeinated pop. So sue me.

    28. Q: What do you think about our Mother in Heaven? A: No such person.

    29. Q: Do humans have the potential to become like God? A: Yes.

    30. Q: What happens after you die? A: Those who believe in Christ will be saved and receive life everlasting.

    31. Q: Are these the last days? A: People say they are, but they’ve been saying that for a while.

    32. Q: Do you believe people can act with some of God’s power and authority? A: God’s power visits us in prayer, but no one has his authority. (Not a completely accurate answer; I do believe in acting with God’s power & authority, but I wouldn’t call it “the priesthood.”)

    33. Q: Do you believe that prophets live on the earth today? A: Yes. There are prophets, but not Monson.

    34. Q: Could The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints ever lead its followers astray? A. Yes. In fact, it has already apostasized. (It said not to answer this question if you’re never-Mo’, but considering that I’m open to the possibility that Smith may have been some form of a true believer at one point, I think the answer fits.)

    35. Q: Can people receive personal revelation? A: Personal revelation should be a person’s primary spiritual guide. (I would say personal revelation & the Bible.)

    36. Q: Who is Jehovah in the Old Testament? A: A pronunciation of the LORD in Hebrew, יהוה. (I’m open to the possibility that Jesus was the God of the OT, but I’m not sure He was exclusively the God of the OT.)

  3. I scored as a Perfect Mormon, but I’m not.

    And there were too many questions where none of the answers fit well.

  4. I took this quiz last month. My results:

    Perfect Mormon
    6 Orthodoxy, 4 LDS knowledge, 7 Cultural homogeneity

    I found the results utterly humiliating. Stupid quiz….

  5. My husband scored Perfect Mormon, too, which is hilarious because he’s nothing like Eric, Brian and Seth.

    8 Orthodoxy, 3 LDS knowledge, 16 Cultural homogeneity (his score)

  6. Ha, according to Main Street Plaza, I am the same kind of Mormon as Kullervo. Does that mean I get to call bullshit on everything?

  7. Misfit Mormon.

    As Chanson knows from my comments at MSP, I was quite pissed about that label at the time. But truth is I probably should move on from the LDS; I just don’t want to. So I guess I am a misfit.

  8. Does that mean I get to call bullshit on everything?

    You know how in elementary school there are always two hall monitors, and one is a boy and one is a girl? That’s why I vote yes.

    My husband took the quiz. He is also a Perfect Mormon. Why are there so many Perfect Mormons around here?

  9. My wife’s results:

    Strong Saint

    13 Orthodoxy, 2 LDS knowledge, 13 Cultural homogeneity

    “You go and do as the Lord commands. You’re not the most inquisitive Mormon, but that road often leads to apostasy anyway. All things considered, you’re one darn good Latter-day Saint.”

    Which is about what we both expected. My internet Mormonism hobby exasperates her on occasion.

  10. I actually found the link to “what kind of supervillain are you?” much more interesting. My results:

    “Genius Maniac

    8% EvilGenius, 15% Mad-Scientist, 17% MaskedMan, 15% Two-Face, 62% Maniac, 38% Bestiary, 8% Seducer, 38% Revenger and 15% Funky!

    You are smart, ingenious, weird and crazy! You are evil and blow up things, kill people and more, all for the rush of things. The more attention you get, the happier you are.

    You don’t mind being followed by heroes, in fact, you invite them. You invite them for the purpose of seeing your master art; though you don’t necessarily hate or dislike them. It’s all for the rush!

    You blow up things, the bigger the explosion the bigger your cynical smile. You enjoy killing as much as you love blowing things up and making chaos. You can blow up things like it’s child’s play, whether it’s a power or not is unclear. But it’s more than a fact that even though you destroy and create havoc, you never have been caught even once. Which shows just how smart you truly are.

    The bigger the chance you lose, the bigger the chance your blood starts pumping. Your powers are unknown, though you are known for your tricks. You like to annoy people and make life miserable, all to make your own a happier one.”

    I think that’s almost a better description of my online religious life than the other quiz.

  11. I don’t think my supervillain quiz was very accurate.

    The Mysterious Masked Man

    8% EvilGenius, 0% Mad-Scientist, 33% MaskedMan, 23% Two-Face, 23% Maniac, 23% Bestiary, 23% Seducer, 15% Revenger and 23% Funky!

    You are mysterious, classy, elegant, shy. But somewhere in time something went terribly wrong because you turned evil!

    You are smart and classy, you prefer to do things quick and without talking. You work alone. What gender you are? No one knows. They just call you ‘The Mysterious Masked Man’ because it sounds cooler. Though people that really know you rather call you the “Masked Genocide”. You never reveal any secrets. It’s your mask and their deaths that count. Though you would make an excellent henchman since you have the ability to turn invisible and the marksmanship needed to efficiently kill. You have your own goals and desires.

    You desire peace, quiet, and a world where people no longer hate each other. If one person shows even the smallest hint of hatred towards someone; as small as it is, she/he dies. However, your true intentions are never clear. Is it wealth? Is it power? What is it? Wait, who are you?

    You are never to be revealed and you will never reveal yourself. You are the perfect secret and define mysterious. Who knows, you might even have a double life! Or a three double life!

    I like my Mormon Intellectual results better.

  12. I’ll admit they probably had better spelling and grammar. I don’t think English was the first language of the person who posted that test.

  13. I’d love to know why you guys are disappointed that you aren’t Perfect Mormons. That surprises me for everyone but Jared.

  14. Well, I didn’t score very high on orthodoxy, but I fit the culture very well! 🙂

  15. Tim ~ I’d love to know why you guys are disappointed that you aren’t Perfect Mormons.

    They’re disappointed that this quiz says they’re Perfect Mormons. They like to think of themselves as counter-cultural, trendy, liberal rebels within their movement, but now the truth comes crashing down…

  16. BJM said:

    They’re disappointed that this quiz says they’re Perfect Mormons. They like to think of themselves as counter-cultural, trendy, liberal rebels within their movement …

    You nailed that one.

  17. I took this awhile ago (when Kullervo made me at home, during the middle of trying to get actual work done, I might add)… I am a sunstone Mormon, apparently.

  18. “They like to think of themselves as counter-cultural, trendy, liberal rebels within their movement”

    Also wrong.

  19. “I’d love to know why you guys are disappointed that you aren’t Perfect Mormons. That surprises me for everyone but Jared.”

    Tim, I’d love to respond, but I really can’t make sense of your comment. We all scored “Perfect Mormon” so that’s what we are, not what we aren’t, unless you mean aren’t Perfect Mormons in real life and the quiz is saying we’re already something that we’re just aspiring to, or maybe you mean something else. And as far as I can tell Jared didn’t take the quiz so now I’m really lost.

  20. I guess when I think of what it means to be a “Perfect Mormon,” I think of those cultural-baggage things that don’t apply to me. I voted Democrat in the last election, I very seldom wear a white shirt to church, given a choice I’d prefer a contemporary-Protestant band to 18th-century hymns in church, I don’t prefer the King James Version of the Bible, I guzzle diet colas, I haven’t encouraged BYU as a college choice for my kids, I lean toward vegetarianism, I have a full beard, and so on. In the total scheme of things, none of those are important, but in some contexts they are what it means to be a Mormon.

    On the other hand, I hold a temple recommend, have a responsible calling, attend church when I’m out of town and sometimes even home-teach. So maybe I fit the label after all (but so far perfection has eluded me).

  21. Sorry Brian, I meant to say “ARE Perfect Mormons” rather than “AREN’T Perfect Mormons”.

    Eric your response reveals that you (and possibly a lot of Mormons) think that some very irrelevant, non-moral choices are what make up a “perfect Mormon”. If I’m to understand that Christ is the center of Mormonism I’d say the heart is much more important than Mollie Mormon’s ghetto aesthetic (and you should call people on it when anyone suggest otherwise).

    I imagine Seth is somewhat disappointed because he thinks he’s outside Mormon orthodoxy. Which is peculiar because he’s always talking about how large Mormon orthodoxy actually is. (Seth correct me if I’m wrong).

  22. All my snickering aside, what I appreciate about Brian, Eric, Seth and Jared is that they’ve shown me there are different ways to be “perfect Mormons.” Attending BYU and spending so much time with the rather conservative TBM apologist crowd from FAIR, I really believed that the only “orthodox” Mormon answers to issues like Heavenly mother, women in the church, and blacks & the priesthood were things like:

    “God won’t allow Heavenly Mother to be revealed because He can’t stand for people to disrespect Her the way they disrespect Him.”

    “Women in the church don’t want the priesthood.”

    “God’s the one who restricted blacks from having the priesthood, and He’s the one who removed the restriction.”

    It’s been immensely refreshing to meet people who are active, faithful Mormons who don’t simply accept those answers then turn off their brains.

    I think the flaw of that quiz was that it didn’t ask for terribly in-depth perspectives on those issues and other ones, like whether God was ever a man, is the status of women in the church adequate apart from whether they should hold the priesthood or not, should the church allow illegal immigrants to serve domestic missions, was Joseph Smith wrong for practicing polygamy the way he did, should the church allow gay marriages, etc.

    If it had contained questions about that, we’d have seen more diversity in result among our LDS regulars.

  23. Ahh. Makes sense now.

    I’m “disappointed” in the result of my quiz because of the description that follows the label “Perfect Mormon.” Sorry, I don’t have the link, but it says things like “you always win at scripture chase” and other such nonsense that doesn’t apply to me. Labels are fairly meaningless to—you know that from the Cult thread—it’s the description of the label that bugged me.

  24. It’s okay, you can be an honorary Sunstone Mormon like katyjane and me if you wanna. (Then you can officially live on the fringe of Mormon thought!)

  25. “I imagine Seth is somewhat disappointed because he thinks he’s outside Mormon orthodoxy. Which is peculiar because he’s always talking about how large Mormon orthodoxy actually is.”

    Doh!

    Bust-ed…

  26. Although, in the interest of clarity, I think what I’ve been actually arguing is that there IS no “Mormon orthodoxy” (or should not be anyway…).

  27. Apparently i’m a perfect mormon.

    I don’t know about some of those questions, though…

    Ps, i’ve been reading the blog for about 10 months and i haven’t posted until now.

    HI EVERYONE.

  28. Oh yeah, and…

    “They’re disappointed that this quiz says they’re Perfect Mormons. They like to think of themselves as counter-cultural, trendy, liberal rebels within their movement, but now the truth comes crashing down…”

    ahhhhh, and so it is.

    that IS how i feel, embarrassingly enough…

  29. Seriously Trevor, you’ve been a quiet observer for 10 months. You gotta give us your shot gun impression on everything you’ve seen here.

  30. haha well…

    i think you all have some great things to say.

    man, that just sounds so lame.

    i don’t know.

    how about i give you a list of things i like about the blog, instead…?

    i like:
    – how an attitude of light-heartedness and seriousness is maintained all at once (kudos)
    – the topics are quite interesting
    – an equal and fair opportunity is given to discuss each point pertaining to Mormonism or Evangelical Christianity

    i don’t know… i feel more informed after reading the blog (in some aspects).

    i think this is a great example of informative inter-faith dialogues

  31. But the most important questions for you are, Trevor, what is your opinion of:

    ~ polygamy Jesus
    ~ Rick Hurd

    ?

    I’m glad you’ve introduced yourself. If you’ve been here for ten months, I’m thinking you’ve been here longer than I have. It’s nice to meet you.

  32. Trevor, it’s always nice to have a bit of affirmation that someone out there is listening besides those participating actively in the conversation. Thanks for reading and feel welcome to pitch-in anytime.

  33. HEY SETH! Who’s blog is this anyway?!? If you’re going to start taking ownership like that I expect you to start writing some Blog Post. 😉

  34. Seriously Seth, Tim is right, I can’t believe you are letting me carry the torch as the primary Mormon poster. . .

    I can’t believe that I qualify as anything but a jack-mormon.

  35. Hai u guyz, it’s time for another quiz!

    Are you a Fundamentalist, Emerger, Evangelical or Liberal? You need a Facebook account to take it though, and if you don’t have one by now it’s probably because you’re socially retarded.

    Turns out I am a true evangelical after all, and if a Facebook quiz proclaims me as such, surely it must be true. Up yours, CARM!

    You are an Evangelical. You are committed to the essentials of the Gospel message, yet you are not too tied to any particular expression and give latitude for yourself and others. You are easy to be around among other Christians, but most non-Christians think you are going to push your faith..

  36. My results:

    You are “Undecided” because at this point in your life, you really can’t be tied down to traditional thinking. This could be for a variety of reasons, but more than likely, you are not one with strong opinions on most issues because you either don’t feel qualified to make a judgement or because your are apathetic to these sort of things. You are somewhat boring to be around, but you don’t cause any trouble so people let you stay. But you are pretty relaxed. Your main phrase is “Whatever.”

  37. Well hi there, I’m late to the game for the new quiz. I’m shocked to learn that I’m not a fundamentalist. Instead…

    You are an emerger. You don’t like the status quo and you are always pushing things. You are somewhat unstable and you think that is where people should be, valuing the mystery of truth. You are dissatisfied with the current condition of the church and seek to change it. You are easy to be around for a time, but eventually people keep their distance because of your disenchantment with the way things are.

    So between that and my Mormon status, I guess I’m just kind of erratic and pissy all around. I blame DC.

  38. I am an Evangelical on that quiz. But I didn’t really get some of the questions.

    I guess I’m just kind of erratic and pissy all around.

    Whitney, wasn’t gonna say it…but since you did…

    😉 Just teasin’.

  39. FYI:
    Perfect Mormon
    7 Orthodoxy, 6 LDS knowledge, 10 Cultural homogeneity
    The obedient Latter-day Saint.
    Temple recommend in hand, you live the gospel every day. Like a city on a hill, you remember the slogan every member a missionary. You beat your peers in seminary scripture chase, and you look forward to (or fondly remember) your beautiful temple wedding.

    You are “Undecided” because at this point in your life, you really can’t be tied down to traditional thinking. This could be for a variety of reasons, but more than likely, you are not one with strong opinions on most issues because you either don’t feel qualified to make a judgement or because your are apathetic to these sort of things. You are somewhat boring to be around, but you don’t cause any trouble so people let you stay. But you are pretty relaxed. Your main phrase is “Whatever.”

    The weakness of both of these quizzes is that they really only probe the orthodoxy and not the true orthopraxis of Mormonism (or fundamentalism, respectively). If someone who’s been inactive for six months gets the title of “perfect mormon” somethings wrong with the test.

  40. Scary! I rated as a “mormon intellectual” on the quiz……. hmmm…..am I in trouble?:)

    gloria

  41. I cannot believe how many FB quizzes I’ve done lately.

    That said…

    You iz teh smartz, much smarter than teh humanz. You read the Harry Potter before dem and you lieks it. You liek reading and you liek the foods. You iz happy kitteh.

  42. I heart quizzes!

    You has the bizness skillz. Teh humanz do not understands. You is the smarts, except when you is the dumbs. We all have the dumbs sometimes. You liek the foods.

    I did not totally understand this quiz, but I liked it nonetheless.

  43. My neighbor took the test and she/he is a dethroned Mormon who is a junkie.

  44. Radical Mormon was my result …go figure I was anti-Mormon on the FB quiz, but ended up Orthodox Catholic on the FB one …hmmmmmmm

Leave a Reply

