Save Marriage Now

This sermon has everything you need to know about saving marriage in our contemporary culture.  It also has nothing to say about the debate on same-sex marriage.

It is quite simply a very powerful message about Jesus’ own thoughts on marriage.  It even addresses what Jesus thought of polygamy.  A topic I didn’t even know he specifically spoke about.

Take the time to listen to this sermon.  It will strengthen your marriage and improve our society.

Direct link here.

20 thoughts on “Save Marriage Now

  1. Obviously people like my threads better than your threads, Tim.

    I do intend to listen to this sermon btw, just haven’t gotten the chance to hear it free from Blue’s Clues running in the background…

    We gotta find the next paw print, cuz that’s our second clue, we put it in our notebook cuz it’s Blue’s Clues, Blue’s Clues! Sit down in our thinking chair and think… think…. think….

  2. Here’s the mail it never fails it makes me want to wag my tail and when it comes I wanna wail MAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAILLL!

  3. Pingback: Save Marriage Now « LDS & Evangelical Conversations

  4. I listened to most of the audio while I was doing other things, so whatever was said about polygamy, I missed it. I’d have read a transcript of the sermon if there were one, but I’m not inclined to spend an hour listening to any sermon, primarily because I’m a visual learner, not an auditory one.

    In any case, to summarize for those who haven’t heard the sermon, in the portions I listened to he mostly outlines what he draws from the Old and New testaments to explain what he sees as the Biblical grounds for divorce. Of course, they’re quite limited. I didn’t hear much in the sermon I’d take issue with.

    A question for Tim: How do you see the state of marriage within the evangelical subculture these days? My impression, and I very well could be wrong, is that cultural changes, such as the acceptance of cohabitation and anything-is-OK-before-marriage, have made big inroads into the evangelical community.

    And how much do you think evangelicals are doing to strengthen marriage? Sadly, I don’t see Mormonism as an institution doing very much.

    My impression of marriage in the LDS subculture is that there is way too much pressure in some areas for people to get married way too young and way too quickly. I was just stunned when my son came home from his mission and several of his former companions were married within six months of their mission end, in some cases to young women they hadn’t met until after the mission. And the son of some good friends of mine returned in June and took a bit longer — he was “on the prowl” since his return, met someone in April and plans to be married this summer. And he’s only 21 and still only a sophomore in college.

    I think it’s craziness.

  5. Actually, I’d ask the same question for Jack and other evangelicals in these parts.

  6. my church at least strongly speaks against co-habitation and “anything goes”. The soft edges of Evangelical culture are probably taking on those attitudes, and the soft edges are probably getting bigger, that’s just the way the general culture is. But as far as I can tell there’s not intentional compromise from core Evangelicals.

    I’ll write a post up about Jesus and polygamy.

  7. I came home from my mission, met a girl, started dating her, and was married at just about the one year point since my return. I was 22, and had only finished two years in college. She was 19 when we got married, and had only finished one year.

  8. One year is reasonable.

    Actually, my wife and I were married well under a year after we met. But we were both college graduates with careers and our own identities.

    I object less to the young marriages (they do work for many, including, I assume, some of the regulars on this board, so no criticism of anyone here was intended) than I do to the pressures of the subculture to marry young. I have come across those who feel that if they aren’t married by the time they’re 20 or so for females, 22 or so for males, that they’ve failed in life. I have heard of young men getting off their missions who feel that their first priority then is to get married. To me, that makes no sense.

  9. Eric ~ How do you see the state of marriage within the evangelical subculture these days? My impression, and I very well could be wrong, is that cultural changes, such as the acceptance of cohabitation and anything-is-OK-before-marriage, have made big inroads into the evangelical community.

    Sigh. This is a real heartache for me, Eric. I could say a lot on it, but I should ask, are we talking about people not getting married because they’re content with cohabiting / having premarital sex? Or does the talk focus more on divorce, or both?

    My impression of marriage in the LDS subculture is that there is way too much pressure in some areas for people to get married way too young and way too quickly.

    Oh, I have a funny story about this.

    Paul and I got engaged in May 2003. Something to understand about Paul: he was not a lady’s man. I was the first girl he’d ever kissed.

    His identical twin brother, on the other hand, had kissed over 21 girls by that point. His dating conquests included a stripper, a prostitute and a pole dancer. His twin brother was attending BYU-I. When he heard we were engaged, he seemed really disappointed. He wanted to marry a girl who was about to leave on a mission, and now his dorky twin brother who had no way with women was going to get married two years before him.

    A few weeks later, mid-June, Paul chats with his brother in e-mail confirming that he still plans to wait for mission-girl. A few days later, his brother sends out a massive group e-mail announcing that he is engaged and getting married in August (our wedding date is November—bastard). The e-mail does not name the girl. The first thing we assume is that he talked mission-girl into not going on her mission.

    A few days later, we find out that it’s a totally different girl, and he wasn’t dating her at the time he proposed to her; he’d broken up with her a few weeks earlier. Not only that, but she had just turned 18 in late May. She’d been 17 when they were dating. He claims personal revelation was responsible for the sudden switch. Sure enough, they have a whirlwind engagement and get married at the Timpanogos temple in late August (my first experience with dutifully waiting outside the temple while an LDS friend gets married, btw).

    Recipe for disaster, right?

    In all honesty, I love her. Somehow their marriage has managed to work out for almost 6 years, and they haven’t had any close calls with divorce like we did. They’ve been dear friends to us and were the only Mormons in my husband’s family who took my side in our near-divorce. Of all my LDS in-laws, I think she’s my favorite. Maybe it really was inspired.

    I still think a desire to beat his twin brother down the aisle (figuratively speaking, I know temple weddings lack aisles) was the instigator of that revelation.

    The next oldest male in my husband’s family also married an 18 year-old.

  10. That story was funny. I wouldn’t recommend a marriage like that, but who am I to say that wasn’t inspiration at work? It does happen.

    BJM asked:

    are we talking about people not getting married because they’re content with cohabiting / having premarital sex? Or does the talk focus more on divorce, or both?

    The parts that I heard were mostly on divorce, but he also mentioned the importance of chastity for the unmarried. I didn’t hear him say that if you’re cohabitating now you should quit it (although I assume he’d take that position), but then again I wasn’t listening all that carefully, so he may have.

  11. Kullervo and I would have gotten married sooner, but we had to wait for my one-year anniversary as a member before we could go to the temple.

    I think I read somewhere, awhile ago, that people who live together before marriage have a higher rate of divorce than those who don’t. I have my own theories about why, but since I have no source to back up my facts (and Kullervo might give me a nice sound bs for it), I’ll hold off for now. 🙂

    (btw… he wouldn’t actually)

  12. Eric: good questions about where the ev.’s are in rel. to marriage, sex before marriage, etx. or is that etxxx… hmm

    uh…not so good…tho I haven’t seen a fresh stat on this, so this is GERMIT off the cuff, per usual. And here’s a GERMIT theory: it’s NOT due to ev young, and older , adults misunderstanding the biblical prohibitions. Those get preached on A LOT, along with don’t drink (in most ev. circles, don’t go to the wrong movies, and on and on)

    the disconnect in not misunderstanding a pretty straightforward word: sex before marriage = sin, just say no. The disconnect is how our relationship with Jesus is framed, coloring anything and everything HE has to say, especially HIS ‘hard words’. Jesus, prior to conversion, is seen as some kind of Celestial problem solver, and meeter of my/your greatest felt needs. this drags over into the life of the believer (or “decision maker for Jesus”) and there is never the context of disciple who has signed up for , KNOWINGLY, a lifestyle of following after Jesus, wherever HE goes, whatever HE says. These are not the clearly understood terms of CONVERSION, so little wonder that the crop comes up similar to the seed. I’m not saying these folks are not christian, only stunted since birth.

    That’s my 5cent sermon, and of course a self-indulgent and sex saturated culture doesn’t help any. To me it’s sad that the best that most churches come up with is some form of “it’s wrong- just say no”. this is , IMO, doomed to failure. We need the life giving friendship and lordship of JESUS, or all of us are STUCK in something. As in “stuck for years, decades, longer…..”

    GERMIT

  13. PS: Jesus as “deliverer from hell” also is MUCH less than productive…..great, I’ve got my fire insurance…. surely HE understands getting a little sumthin’ sumthin’….. shake well

    So part of the problem is we don’t understant SALVATION very well: saved FROM WHAT, and saved TO WHAT,. exactly…. “hell” is NOT the best answer to this….

  14. “surely HE understands getting a little sumthin’ sumthin’ ”

    I am glad to see you have seen the light and are admitting that He was a polygamist.

  15. there are days, like today, that I’m glad my wife doesn’t read these blogs…. 🙂

    Kullervo: more toward “cunning lite” or “faux cunning”

Leave a Reply

