What is God calling us (or you) to?

My last post asked what was the the most compelling ground Mormons and Evangelicals had for believing in God.  I didn’t see a lot of difference in the answers.

Tim suggested that a key question regarding the differences between Mormons and Evangelicals maybe “What is God calling us to?

I think we migt all learn a lot from everyone’s answers from both Evangelical and Mormon perspectives.

I don’t have great answer for myself, right now, I think that in some ways my vision of what God specifically has in store for me, or what he wants me specifically to do. But I am hoping something may jar loose inside me as I get some feedback from more devoted believers.

16 thoughts on “What is God calling us (or you) to?

  1. I’m not sure this is really what you’re asking, but….

    I think God is calling me to be charitable toward others. Unity. Oneness—with God and my neighbor. Pursuing those ends in the face of opposition but not denying the agency of others (or my own fallibility).

  2. From an agnostic atheist’s perspective, I agree with BrianJ (but I’m biased, lol). And I think many theists of all stripes are failing miserably in this goal.

    It just seems to me that when people aren’t charitable, I can’t imagine that they want to attribute this to God. I mean, from a practical aspect. I don’t see how alienation, contention, etc., (not saying all or most religious people do this) can be honestly sourced to God. While I don’t source charity to God, I can at least see how *that* would make sense. When people talk about how great their relationship with God is, it makes sense to relate that to efforts to be charitable, united, pursuing understanding, etc.,

    I dunno. Maybe I’m being wishy washy and poisoning the well.

  3. BrianJ,

    I think the question is couched in Evangelical language, or biblical language but I am not totally familiar with that. Maybe Tim can fill us in better.

    I suppose the question rephrased from my point of view is that when you have contact with God, is he leading you to anything, anyone, any organization or cause, or any calling? And how do you recognize this as God’s calling.

    Part of it is what is the hope you have of the promise God has for you, some of it is what life he wants you to lead now.

  4. When I first posed the question it was in the context of how authoritarian should our church structures be. But I’ll play ball with it posed in a larger context.

    Another way to phrase the question is “What does God want for us?”

    For me, I’m here to glorify God and enjoy him forever. The best way for me to do both is to emulate Jesus, particularly his character.

  5. Tim said:

    For me, I’m here to glorify God and enjoy him forever.

    The question is, what does it mean to glorify God? To me that means to seek to be like him by following the example He has set for us, pretty much like you said: “to emulate Jesus, particularly his character.” And that means loving God and neighbor, treating other people as creatures made in God’s image.

    It’s both very simple and very complex.

  6. For me it mens to point to God and what He has done for us.

    We don’t really know ‘what Jesus would do’ because we are not Him, we are us.

    The essence of the first sin was the desire ‘to be like God’.

    God uses us and molds us through His Spirit. ‘he who began a good work in us will bring it to completion.

    I think that we ought strive to be as we were made to be…(more) human.

    And that means less of a self-consciousness and more of looking to fill the needs around us as we see them, in the freedom of Christ and the forgiveness of sins that He has given to us.

    Thanks.

  7. Wait, are we talking about what God is calling us to do collectively as the human race, generally as human beings, or specifically as individuals? Because the answers would not necessarily be the same.

  8. When I first posed the question it was in the context of how authoritarian should our church structures be. But I’ll play ball with it posed in a larger context.

    I imagine many Mormons think that God is calling them to participate in more a authoritarian church than other groups. . .

  9. I imagine many Mormons think that God is calling everyone to the same thing that they are called to.

    I at least think that God is calling everyone to the same thing as me (as outlined above).

  10. I don’t think Mormons believe that God is calling everyone to the Church. . . at least that is not what is said in the scriptures.

  11. Tim, do you believe that God is calling you to something personal to you and specific, in addition to the general call you outlined above (yes, I realize that you believe the “general call” IS personal and specific, but since it has personally and specifically gone out to every individual human being, that’s really just general: I’m not trying to play semantic games).

    Jared, my question has nothing to do with your qualification to speak on behalf of humanity, but whether you believe that God has a plan for all of humanity. That’s sort of a central Mormon theme, no?

  12. Yes, I believe God has a specific calling on my life. That calling is partly centered around my geography, gifts, skills and experiences. The other part is made up by the Holy Spirit’s whims and His desire to show me he’s not tame.

Leave a Reply

